Cold meat and ice

I put all the invitations in the drawer locked,

Stayed back home high and drunk. 

I sat on the same spot, 

Turned the lights off..

Carefully drew the curtains 

And listened to the wind howling until midnight.

I played the same old songs 

That pricked me at places that hurt,

I munched on cold meat 

Wore that same T-shirt, 

Faded- but still mine. 

I tried to fix what was lost already,

Inhaled dust,

And cried in his love. 

I built a wall of ice covering me from what was in the light outside…

Quivered and shed some more tears,

Held myself tigher 

And repeated the same old song again. 

14 responses to “Cold meat and ice

Leave a Reply

