Paying guest

Far away from home

I am here under the roof of somebody else’s home

With a bed and pretty balcony 

But it doesn’t feel like home. 

The framed photos gawk at me

And I stare into their eyes

I touch the plain surface to feel their warmth

But nothing,

Nothing except the feel of ice. 

Far away from home

I am here under the roof of somebody else’s home 

With all the sky I need for my flight, 

No-one cares about what I do

And maybe deep inside that bothers me. 

That mayhem I lived with

I never knew how comforting their memories would sound to me

The only balm to my restless soul

Far away from home 

Far away from their succoring hold. 

15 thoughts on “Paying guest

  1. Loved your poem…There is no sweeter place than own home…I’m staying as a paying guest too, though only for a short while…I kinda miss home at times, but I somehow love living all alone in a single room..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Most of my writings are not imaginary. I write what I feel.
      And for the record I just moved to another city for my higher education. And that’s why this poem.
      πŸ™‚πŸ™‚πŸ™‚πŸ™‚πŸ™‚πŸ™‚πŸ˜‡
      BTW, thank you for reading.

      Like

Leave a Reply

