Thunderclap 

​The clouds have darkened

And I hear a distant thunder roar,

The warm hues of the sky overturned

By malevolent shades of gray.

I apprehend the gusts of wind whooshing through the trees,

I sense turbulence taking over the dense stillness of the air. 


I walk into the the kitchen,

And pour myself some warm coffee.

I grab a few cookies from the jar,

And the bookmarked journey I left unattended.

I hum a happy song on the way back to the my favorite reading chair,

Just in time to watch my favorite show…

Just in time to witness the ferocious thunderclap glow. 

2 thoughts on “Thunderclap 

Leave a Reply

