Buried temptation 

​For a fraction of second I fell in love with him, 

But scared of the truth I didn’t let it grow. 

I stabbed the emotion and didn’t let it bleed, 

I bandaged my wounded heart and faked some glow. 

Afraid of the dark and of the words I didn’t want to hear 

I buried the letter I wrote,

With all the butterflies and magic along. 

I couldn’t bear his No,

Of my unbidden love I couldn’t let him know. 

His hello was something I couldn’t afford to lose…

So I made up a story and covered all my cuts and blues. 

4 responses to “Buried temptation 

Leave a Reply

