Cologne 

​It was a new beginning 

New city, 

Unknown street patterns 

And loads of work to get commited to. 


You were no more a memory to return. 

You were the cold steak I was never to taste, 

Forgotten and lost among the various other plies of my past. 


Smell of a similar cologne caught me off guard one day 

While  I walked through the crowd of the busiest hour. 

It smelled of comfort and attachment. 

Comfort that I missed for so long. 

With that sudden fragrance I felt hunger inside of me. 

Hunger for a place where I felt loved and overwhelmed. 

I rummaged through my heart to name the comfort I felt

And when I finally could find the right memory,

I had your name to my lips. 

The distasteful cold Steak that I was to avoid 

was forced to plate

And it made me sick again,

Sick enough to not be able to smile for days. 

4 thoughts on “Cologne 

    1. That’s just a secondary part. Anyway I am doing fine. My emotions are on standby mode. Have too many things going around and certainly I have no time for playing love games right now.
      Thank you for reading, and I must say I am a huge fan of your poems and you commenting on my post is amazing!
      😇😇😇😃

      Like

      1. Love isn’t a game; but unfortunately, times are not conducive for true feelings like love to prosper without hindrances (saga of human existence).
        My pleasure, reading your poems; and thank you for your kind words. Really appreciate that. Keep penning down your thoughts. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I am known to the fact that love isn’t a game. But here I am emphasizing on the unfair game of love. What I mean here is that currently I am not in the mood to face another relationship and let things happen that I cannot control. There are a lot more things in life to care about.
        Anyway, happy reading to both of us.
        Take care. 😁

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment