The Last Hug

She was a glowing firefly,
With beautiful cat eyes, utterly beautiful was she… without a lie!
Bench mates we were… sharing glances and glares,
Giggles and laughter, memories we shared.
We had so much in common!
Soul sisters – they  used to say…
Bunking classes and spending the times of our lives,
Behaving stupid and insane!

And soon were left no secrets in between,
Vacations spent together, to our dream places we had been!
We had plans of our own of glories  to conquer,
But her father took her away one day….he took along my bestfriend… my anchor.
We shared our bond of friendship for a beautiful period of 5 years,
But distance parted us, and our separation left  behind tears.

I had no mobile or computer, no internet connection those times,
The last hug was all I had of her and the happy and sad memories combined.
She blew away like dust and left no signs to follow,
On our bench I alone sat for classes… with the space beside so hallow.
Class 9 and 10 and 11 and 12…
Years without her I survived in the same School,
New Friends though I made,
But no one like her so cool.

I was a grown girl soon and dad gifted me a cell,
I searched her on Facebook with various names but failed.
She was nowhere…. or maybe out of my reach,
Several years have passed, its Her still I miss.

I saw a Post by a Novelty to write memories about “best friends”
And her thought  striked me instantly, and the last hug of our end.
I scribbled with hope this unplugged verse for her,
I know she loved to read, And I wish she reads this verse.
Dear Prashanti…
Our memories are still alive in my heart,
I never found a friend like you… such strong has been ua dart.
If you read this verse, remember your childhood bestie still awaits your hand.
She still waits for  you to jump around and tie on her hand that “Prashanti-made” friendship band.
She still remembers those days of friendship and love, she still remembers you,
And the tearful last hug of yours, she still does terribly misses you.

image

17 responses to “The Last Hug

  1. Your beautiful eyes so clear,It looked like a little teddybear,So sweet and harmless,It would light up the darkness,Look in her unique eyes And you’ll see she’s very wise.. these were the line that strike my mind when i saw your post and the way u have pen down them is simply amzing i mean each and everything by u is so beautifully described … trust me the way u play with the words is simply amazing I mean superb they are

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Loved this Tanushree ! I lost a friend in the school days in the same way. And I haven’t managed to find him yet, despite all the social media. But the memories remain, always. This made me smile and remember an old friend, thank you for that. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a wonderful post to dedicate to your best friend! I wish she reads this and finds you 🙂 I have a similar story about my friend from school but fortunately I found her after years of being in different cities… We kept in touch through letters for 13 years before we met again! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

